The Fayette County Branch of the NAACP was organized and chartered in February 1997.  The purpose and aim of the Fayette County Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is:

To continue to make a positive impact on the quality of life for the citizens of Fayette County through:

  • Political empowerment with increased voter registration and participation;
  • Strengthening and encouraging excellence in our Youth Council;
  • Challenging and fighting against injustice of any kind;
  • Contributing to cultural, educational, social and political programs;
  • Involvement in the development of a socially healthy community;
  • Assisting those who strive to monitor and reduce crime; and
  • Promote educational, social, political and economic equality and opportunities.

Fayette County Branch President


Rev. James Vance


Rev. James D. S. Vance President became President of the Fayette County Branch of the NAACP in January, 2019. 

A member and leader in the NAACP since moving to Fayette County in 2014, Rev. Vance is guiding the branch through a period of re-envisioning and re-invigoration.

Rev. Vance has a Bachelor of Science in Human Services and Master of Divinity Degree. 

Rev. Vance is the Senior Pastor and Founder of New Direction Higher Calling Ministries in Fayetteville, GA. Rev. Vance served as the Morris Brown College Chaplain, and as pastor of Liberation Temple AME Church, Atlanta, GA, Bethel AME Church Attapulgus, GA, Mt. Olive AME Church, Attapulgus, GA and St. John AME Church, Boston, GA. 

 Rev. Vance, a Vietnam Era Veteran, is a Program Analyst with the U.S. Department of Labor. Rev. Vance won the 2017 Secretary’s Honor Award for Exceptional Achievement for OFLC FOIA Team.

He has dedicated his career and service to defending the rights and improving the lives of all people.

Rev. Vance is a member of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, Pi Gamma Mu Social Science Honor Society, and a Life Member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc 


President: Rev. James Vance naacp.prez.fayettega@gmail.com

1st Vice President:      Rev. Dwayne Turner

2nd Vice President:    Kenneth Bryant

President Emeritus:   Terrence Williamson

Youth Council Pres.:   Aliana Stanley

Treasurer:                     Michael McBride

Asst. Treasurer:           Malcolm Hughes

Secretary:                     Jessica Turner

Asst. Secretary:           Janice Bryant

Communications:       Bonnie Williamson

      Economics:            Malcolm Hughes

      Education:              Delvonnie Burgess

      Health:                    Stevie Flowers

      Legal Redress:     Launell Mcuine

      Membership:         Evelyn Thompson

      Political Action:      Brenda Cox

      Religious Affairs:  Minister Brice Smith

      Veterans Affairs:    Rev. Dwayne Turner

      Youth Work:            Alice Jones


                           John E. Jones

                           Cheryl Rousseau

                           Jeanette Robinson

                           Gail Davis

                           Stella Owens-Murrell

                           Eddie Dixon

                           Westley Gilbert

Learn More

                                                           Learn more at the monthly Fayette County NAACP meeting; 

                                                              4:00 P.M. Second Saturday of the month; 

                                                              Flat Rock A.M.E. Church

                                                              148 Old Chapel Lane

                                                              Fayetteville, GA 30215